June 20, 2012

  • Life in Christ

    Whoever finds his life will lose it, and whoever loses his for my my sake will find it. (Matthew 10:39)

    Last night, my wife and I were reflecting on the scriptures and going through a Bible study.  One of the questions asked us if we found it difficult to believe in God's promises and whether we truly believe that God is compassionate, gracious, and slow to anger.  When we both went through these questions, we just looked at each other in the eyes and at that moment, the Holy Spirit spoke to us both, reaffirming to us that God kept His promise of marriage (He told us to marry each other) through each of us and through that promise, during the past about one and a half years, showed us His Son - we both became more compassionate, gracious, and slower to anger.  And, at that moment, we both realized that we see Jesus in each other.

    Imagine that - seeing Jesus in each other and knowing what a living sacrifice and example of Christ we both had become to each other.  We both took a risk in marriage.  We knew each other for only a few months when God told us that are married.  In this world, people would like to believe that a person chooses his or her own spouse and that God does not directly tell us who we should or should not marry.  But God did tell us and also told us the date.  So, we got married (but then, God already knew we were married because He joins us (marriage is His doing), so to God we were married).  

    And, the verse above struck me.  I was not trying to find my life, find my way, or to find my spouse.  I did not rely on my own thoughts and judgments regarding marriage.  I relied on God Himself and what He told me. My wife relied on God Himself and what He told her.  We never proposed to each other.  We just knew by divine revelation who we were to each other.  It was not about my life, my choices, and the way that I wanted it, but His ways, His choices, and the ways that He wants it. We both, by marrying each other, have given up our lives as living sacrifices to the Almighty God for His sake.  After all, all we had relied on for our marriage was God speaking to us - His words and will for our lives.

    And, having said this, given the flaws that we both have, the flaws that we both carried, it was amazing to see how much we both have grown in Christ together.  And, having given up our choices, given up being captain of our own ship, we have come to see more of Christ and grown more in Christ than we would have had if we were choosing our way.  

    By giving up our decisions to Him, we have gained life abundance!

    And, praise the Lord for that!

Comments (2)

  • A beautiful testamony to what God does for us. I was married when I met my now husband and was so very afraid that by becoming a divorced woman that I would make him an adulterer. I didn't understand God's capability of forgiveness at that time. I went to four different denomination churches and talked to their pastors, fathers, ministers etc. and they all told me the same thing. There is a second reason for divorce and that is desertion. Paul said "If the non-believer" wishes to depart, let him and the faithful one is no longer held to their committment" (paraphrased). So my husband now and I married. Within the year I was baptised and then taught the children's class with the experience I had learned in Scouting. Soon my class was blessed with 30 children...both my sons, then almost grown were baptised. My work was blessed. You can only teach love when you know love.  Bobby and I have been married 31 years.

  • Beautiful :)

    Praise God!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *