January 20, 2012

  • Touched by a Word of Knowledge

    Yesterday, on my way back from lunch, I waited on the platform for the train.  While waiting, the Holy Spirit tugged my attention to this man -- he had a very long beard and eyes that I recognized from somewhere before in the Spirit, but have never seen in real life.  The word that I received was the "old."  He was not an old man by any means, but someone in his late forties.  Having had experiences with others and their reactions to my approaches to them, I decided to take a more subtle approach this time.  And, by any standards, telling someone that they are "old" is an offense in this culture, but not other cultures that have high regard for those older.  I walked in front of the man, paced back and forth to get his attention.  It may be better to get his attention first and have him initiate.  After a few tries, he did not talk to me, but others probably thought was nervous and anxious since I paced back and forth on the platform quite a bit.

    The train finally came and I entered through the rear door of one of the cars.  The man that I received a word for entered the same car through the front door.  I went straight for one of the seats near the door and sat down.  The man went from the front of the car to the rear to sit by me.  That was when I realized that I should be approaching him, talking to him, and telling him what was given to me.

    I initiated a conversation with him.  He was really nice and cordial.  I told him, "I have seen you somewhere."

    He answered, "Where do you live?"

    I answered, "(fill in whatever neighborhood you want)."

    He said, "I go to that neighborhood antique store all the time.  You probably seen me there."

    I never went to that antique store.  He was talking antiques and how he collects them, how they are better investments of furniture, and how one can sell them back.  He said that IKEA stuff did not last and you cannot sell them back.

    I was thinking to myself how this may be a great idea.  After listening to him about antiques, my stop came.  I said bye to him and left.

    I went home without thinking much of it -- just a conversation I had with someone.

    However, when I woke up this morning, I realized that the word "old" was indeed correct.  It was not referring to the man, but to what he does -- "old" furniture.

    So, it is clear that God is reaching out to this man.  Perhaps, I should have given him the word, but then it may have not gone too well - discretion is key.  I felt a little bad for not giving him the word straight and assuring him that God loves him.  After talking to the Lord for a while, He gave me the impression that it is okay, that I approached the man and showed him love that day.  It was a nice conversation.

    I guess some things never change after marriage.  God is still using me to talk to others, to share love with others, and to make His presence known.  And, this time, I learned something new from Him -- that His mind instructs me beyond anything that is possible by human instruction.  The world believes that the word "old" is a bad word, but it is actually a neutral word that describes just about anything.  For example, Xanga is "old" but that does not necessarily make it bad.

    Perhaps, God is rebuking me gently for my narrow-minded thinking.  Perhaps, He is teaching me more about how an innocent word like "old" is perverted by the world.  Although I don't know God's intentions, I know that I had learned quite a bit and that scripture is illuminated by the life that comes from Him and that I am never the same from this point onward.


    The person with the Spirit makes judgments about all things, but such a person is not subject to merely human judgments, for,

    “Who has known the mind of the Lord so as to instruct him?” 

    But we have the mind of Christ. (1 Cor 2:15-16)

Comments (10)

  • Having the mind of Christ doesn't mean we have some mystical interaction with God.  We know all God instructs by His Word.

  • @NightCometh - You are missing the point, but please do explain what you mean.

  • @Christenstein - I mean, I think you believing God "whispered you a word" about this guy sounds more like paganism than Christianity.  You said "So, it is clear that God is reaching out to this man.".  How?  You didn't preach him the Gospel...give him the law and grace?  

  • @NightCometh - God bless you and I pray He opens your eyes.  

  • I see much wisdom in this post!  Often Our Lord gives me a word such as you received about the "old" man which leaves me wide open for His Guidance and prompting.  More often than not, the only prompting which follows is that I ponder the situation, which in turn leads me to spiritual insight.  "He who began a good work in me is faithful to complete it."  And only those of us who are led by the Spirit of God Personally instead of mere doctrinal frameworks understand that often He simply leads us around in our own thoughts and encourages our personal growth.  In this instance you were left with discernment about the "old" man's spirit and destiny, and your own faith is left stronger.
    Wonderfully written truth here, My Friend.

  • I found what you said about the connotation, and inference, of the word old, interesting to read... how in other cultures, old is not a bad thing but a thing that is respected, even revered.  I would love to see a return to that kind of thinking, and treatment, of age.  I think it would be of great benefit to us all here in this country that seems to appreciate little.
    I totally get the point of your post, and how God whispers to us, we know not always why, but enlightenment will come.  I don't suppose all have this gift of 'hearing' God in obscure moments and ways.  God gives different gifts to different people.  You are blessed and I wish you a blessed day. 

  • God bless you for putting so much thought into the things given to you

    your life is a meditation on God and His words, His love for others.
    I believe God used you because after receiving that word you were pacing and anticipating
    an opportunity to converse with him. You are open to what God prompts. It glorifies God, and that man was blessed for your talking to him. Who knows what words or action maybe convicted him secretly? That's another awesome part.:)

  • @JerusalemHill - He never ceases to teach us!  Sometimes, some of us actually wished that He would tell us directly and clearly what He wants and where we are going.  This is a clear example of why He doesn't do that, so that we can ponder and grow deeper and closer to Him.  Amazing! 

  • @JstNotherDay - Yes, appreciating those who have gone before and us and build our generation is a good start for us to learn to appreciate other blessings as well.  It seems that this generation has this self-destructive mentality of entitlement.  For some odd reason, it seems that a majority of them believe that they are entitled to things that they have not necessarily earned or worked for.  Learning to appreciate blessings is the first step towards being content about ourselves and not wanting more.  Very wise words indeed! 

  • @YouToMe - Thanks for reminding that these words or actions may be part of a bigger plan on God's part.  One can plant a seed, water a seed or till the soil.  Perhaps, someone has already harvested and one can water the soil to grow the plant.  Whatever may be the case, we are called to reflect God's glory in many different ways.  Sometimes, we may forget that we all work for Christ's cause in many different and wonderful ways.  Thanks so much for your encouragement and reminder.  And, Happy New Year to you!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment