August 5, 2012

  • Another Encounter

    While watching history unfold at ground zero on Thursday at Chick-Fil-A, a homeless man came up to me and asked me for $0.50.  It is my policy not to give money to the homeless, but to feed them and give them drink just as the Bible says.  So, I looked at him and asked him if he was hungry.  He told me that he was.  I asked him how a chicken sandwich sounded.  He told me that it sounded great.  I asked him to wait for me while I get it for him.  When I came out and gave him the sandwich, he started to talk to me about his problems.  I did not want to be rude to him, so I asked him to sit down with me and eat.  I asked him what his name is and offered my hand to him.  He was hesitant to shake my hand.  I looked at him and told him that I do not bite (considering how ironic that may have sounded because he was the one who had dirty clothes and smelled).  He put his hand out and shook mine hand.

    Then, for a brief moment, he forgot all about his problems and started to tell me how appreciative he is of what I did.  I found this really interesting because he asked me for $0.50 and got a sandwich.  Most of the time, most people just walk away from me because they want the money more than the food.  What got me was that when he took a bite of the sandwich, he did not express appreciation.  It only after I offered to sit down with him and shook his hand that he expressed it. And, perhaps, I am reading too much into the situation, but he did mention to me how we are all human beings regardless of race, gender, and money.  I affirmed him saying, "yes, we all need to eat to survive."  He was laughing and smiling, smiling so wide.

    Suddenly, he stopped smiling and his eyes became wide-shot.  He started to swear at me and swearing at Jesus.  He told me, "I do not want your love.  Go away."  I had had many experience with demons and usually they are turned off by God's word and prayer, but this was a first experience where they are turned off by love.  Then, the smile came back and the wide-shot eyes disappeared.  He then told me how great Jesus and other religious leaders were.  Then, he switched again and then started to tell me bad Jesus is and how Jesus hated the homosexuals.  Then, he became him again and said that Jesus loves the homeless, the crippled, the poor, etc.  This was going on for about thirty minutes.

    My sense was not to encounter the demon because I sense that he was not ready.  However, I did not notice that love is reaching out to the man.  I did notice that he is breaking through at times and the demon is losing ground.  I did notice that the demon is struggling to hold on.  And, having reflected on the incident for about a few days, I realized that God's love touched the man and reached out to him.  Then, these verses came to mind.

    And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love. (1 Cor 13:13)

    Copyright 2012 by Christenstein

Comments (5)

  • That the man was probably bipolar, but most definitely in conflict, comes as no surprise.  I have encountered several such people and fed quite a few.  It is, however, as you have discovered, the time and interest you invested in him that made far more difference than the sandwich, however important that was to his well-being.  "Love is the secret".

  • I think he has a mental problem.  probably not a demon.  but who knows.

    it's wonderful that you fed and associated with him.  whether he was possessed by a demon, or was homeless because he has a psychological disorder, you ministered to the human.  wonderful!

    although, I should not discount your first-hand experience of his condition.

  • @RighteousBruin - @plantinthewindow - Thanks for your comments and for emphasizing the real point of the post regardless of our opinions on mental health and demons.  God bless.

  • It sounds to me that he is bipolar or has a serious mental illness. However, the crazy events and behaviors occuring, which seemingly are increasing, have me wondering about demon possession. I agree with the others, however. Thank you and bless you for feeding, ministering to this man. You what Jesus has taught us to do. May God bless you for this loving act. Also thank you for checking my site and for your comment. ~~Peace, Joy, Love 'n Prayers

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *